Archive for the 'Information Architecture' topic

More on Breadcrumbs as a Design Cop-Out

My article, Design Cop-out #2: Breadcrumbs, is one of the most controversial I’ve written in recent years. People either agree completely or think I’ve gone off the deep end. When people disagree, it’s often because they think I’m suggesting that we stop putting breadcrumbs in our designs. I’m not suggesting this at all. I’ve defined […]

UIEtips: Design Cop-out #2 – Breadcrumbs

We’ve received some interesting comments about last week’s article on site maps as design cop-outs. Christian & Michael both asked: Why is it a cop-out to provide a site map anyway? Christian explained that they are easy to create and maintain, so what’s the big deal? It’s a good question. While creating a site map […]

UIEtips: The Site Map – An Information Architecture Cop-Out

The design process is filled with tradeoffs. We have to decide what functions are in and what functions are left on the cutting room floor. We have to decide how we’re going to present the functions to the user and what we’re going to hide from them. And we have to decide what problems we’re […]

UIE Virtual Seminar: The Scent of a Web Page: The Five Types of Navigation Pages

We’ve got another great UIE Virtual Seminar coming up: The Scent of a Web Page: The Five Types of Navigation Pages Date: July 17th, 2008 — 1pm ET / Noon CT / 11am MT / 10am PT You work hard providing top-notch content on your site. Will your users find it? If they don’t find […]

SpoolCast: Followup Q&A from The Scent of Information

Brian Christiansen and I recorded a special episode comprised entirely of questions from our customers. Last week, we held the UIE Virtual Seminar: The Scent of Information: Getting Users to Their Content. During the seminar, we received far more questions than time would allow answering. As is tradition, we put together this follow-up podcast to answer even more of your excellent questions.

SpoolCast: What Makes a Great IA with Donna (Maurer) Spencer

This week, I had the pleasure of speaking with Donna (Maurer) Spencer, a world-renowned information architect and owner of the freelance agency MaadMob, based in Canberra, Australia.

In this episode I asked Donna, “What separates good Information Architects from great Information Architects?”